Sarah Seunghwa Chae

Sarah Seungwha Chae is a Korean soprano born in 1991. Last year she graduated from the Hochschule für Musik Saar in Germany, and she is now continuing to study for a master’s degree. In opera she has sung to title role in Janáček’s Cunning Little Vixen, Musetta in Puccini’s La Bohème and Lucia in Britten’s Rape of LucretiaIn December 2018 she was awarded a Wagner Scholarship to go to Bayreuth. As a soloist with orchestra she has sung in Mendelssohn’s Second Symphony.

Born in 1991


South Korean

Piano: Ilmo Ranta


Preliminary round

G.F. Händel

Messiah: I know that my Redeemer liveth

R. Strauss

Kornblumen (Dahn)

C. Debussy

Pierrot (de Banville)

G. Verdi

Rigoletto: “Caro nome” (Gilda)


J. Sibelius

Demanten på marssnön (Wecksell)

L. Dallapiccola

Quattro liriche di Antonio Machado
1. La primavera ha venido
2. Ayer sone que veia a dios
3. Señor ya me arrancaste
4. La primavera ha venido

J. Turina

Poema en forma de canciones (Campoamor) 2. Nunca olvida 3. Cantares 4. Los dos miedos 5. Los locas por amor

C. Gounod

Roméo et Juliette: “Amour ranime mon courage” (Juliette)


J. Massenet

Manon: “Je marche sur tous les chemins” (Manon Lescaut)

G. Donizetti

Lucia di Lammermoor: Regnava nel silenzio” (Lucia)

Competition performances

Preliminary round

Stay in tune - subscribe to our newsletter!


Back to top