Competition Jury 2019

The 2019 jury consisted of Jorma Silvasti (Chairman), Olaf Bär, Ben Heppner, Vesselina Kasarova, François Le Roux, Waltraud Meier, Deborah Polaski and Kiri Te Kanawa.

Olaf Bär

German operatic baritone Olaf Bär is considered to be one of the foremost Lieder interpreters of his generation.

Ben Heppner

Canadian tenor Ben Heppner is acclaimed worldwide for his beautiful voice, intelligent musicianship and sparkling dramatic sense.

Vesselina Kasarova

Vesselina Kasarova has become world famous for her interpretation of Mozart operas, the bel canto fach and the French opera.

François Le Roux

French baritone François Le Roux is known of his vast operatic repertoire, and the critics have appointed him as " the greatest Pelléas of his generation".

Waltraud Meier

German mezzo-soprano Waltraud Meier is one of the foremost Wagner singers of our times.

Kiri te Kanawa

New Zealand born Dame Kiri Te Kanawa is a one of the most famous sopranos in our time. She is critically acclaimed of her repertoire of works by W.A. Mozart and Richard Strauss.

Deborah Polaski

American-born soprano Deborah Polaski is specialized in dramatic soprano roles and celebrated for her expertise and interpretation in Wagner and Strauss heroines.

Jorma Silvasti

Finnish operatic tenor Jorma Silvasti made his international breakthrough in Vienna State Opera in 1993. He was the chairman of the Mirjam Helin Competition Jury in 2019, 2014 and 2009.

Stay in tune - subscribe to our newsletter!


Back to top