Apply now for the Mirjam Helin Competition

The Winners of the 2014 Mirjam Helin Competition Beomjin Kim and Kateryna Kasper

The Mirjam Helin International Competition is open for applications. Now to be held for the eighth time, the competition will take place at the Helsinki Music Centre on 20–29 May 2019. There are separate categories for men and women and a total of €173,000 will be awarded in prizes. 

The application form must be accompanied by details of the competition repertoire and a short biography, including at least the names of educational establishments attended and names of teachers, dates of any diplomas or degrees awarded, major public performances (including place and date) and any previous prizes at international competitions.

The application must include the following enclosures (to be downloaded):

- A high-quality audiovisual recording for pre-selection purposes, of one aria and two solo songs in different styles and in different languages. We recommend uploading MP4. However, the following video formats are accepted: MPEG, MPG, MOV, AVI, WMV, M4V, VOB. The works presented on the pre-screening recording may be included into the competition programme.  

- A copy of an ID card or other official form of identification

- Two photographs (high-quality, resolution 300 dpi, black and white)

- Full biography

Information about the Competition, rules, repertoire, prizes, etc., can be found here.

All applicants must complete the form online, but you need not complete it in a single session: you can save it, return to and amend it later until you are ready to submit it. There is no application or registration fee.  

Please note that the last date for application is Friday 30 November 2018. However, applications begun by that date may be supplemented up to 14 December 2018.  *

The online application form is at

More information can be found at  For Competitors and Competition 

Should you have any questions, please contact [email protected]

 Good luck!


* We have extended the application period and the new deadline is 31 December 2018. 



Photo: Heikki Tuuli. The Winners of the 2014 Mirjam Helin Competition Beomjin Kim and Kateryna Kasper